Currently

Listening: to my usual early evening silence – apart from the clock, and Wensleydale turning the pages of his book.

Reading: ‘Deaf Sentence’ by David Lodge. This book contains the best description of what it is like to have acquired deafness I have ever read. And that’s not just because it’s the only description of what it is like to have acquired deafness I have ever read. Fortunately, my deafness doesn’t affect me as badly as the protagonist of Lodge’s book, but I share his frustration with noisy environments and endless battery changes.

Watching: not much. The only things we have watched this week are the Vuelta and ‘Full Steam Ahead’. Oh, and CBeebies, of course.

Making: The second experimental cabled structure (no bobbles or holes this time) has been finished, and also turned out well. I’ve moved on to mohair – it was going to have string stripes – luminous pink string stripes – and be in an Alvar Aalto vase shape, but it wasn’t working. Now it’s going to have woven ladders – possibly woven with pink string- and be tear shaped. Maybe.

Loving: having a 3 day weekend. We will not be going anywhere – except shopping on Monday – but I shall be playing with textiles, paper and paint every day.

Feeling: more cheerful than I did last week – although ‘resigned’ might be a better word. 

Anticipating: the start of the Tour of Britain next weekend. My life is measured out in bike races, as well as coffee spoons.

Leave a Reply

